Now its own municipality, the city of South Fulton revs up for elections in March

After voters raised their voice in approval for South Fulton to become its own city in last year’s election in November 2016, the once unincorporated part of Fulton County now prepares for municipal elections on March 21, 2017.


The election will include 71 candidates, nine for mayor and 62 for council members vying for position of mayor and seven city council member positions. Backgrounds of candidates include attorneys, professionals, entrepreneurs, retirees, community organizers, and a college student.


Early voting will be held on February 27th at South Service Center and Wolf Creek Library. The official charter will take effect on May 1st, at which point elected officials can collect taxes.


As its own city, South Fulton will be responsible for developing parks and recreation, code enforcement, planning and zoning, and a police and fire forces as well. Elected officials will work to this end.


Questionnaires regarding issues the newly incorporated city faces will be sent to

candidates in coming weeks.


The city of South Fulton is a city of about 125,000 people.


Municipality candidates include:




Robert Bonner, Jr.

Bennie Crane

Robert L. Dawson III

William Bill Edwards

Ronnie Few

Gwendolyn Rainey Gillespie
Rafter Johnson

Travis Townsend, Jr.

Ken Wainwright


City Council, District 1


Linda Marie Allen

Kenneth Jarriel Anderson

Battiste Broadus

Tabatha R. Bryant

Willie G. Davis, Jr.

Anthony B. Fulton

Ehimen Inegbedion

Koya Olateru

Tracy L. Rolle

Catherine Foster Rowell

Nicholas D. Wilson


City Council, District 2


Angelia Gay Bankston

Sam Bowen

Damita Kay Chatman

Allyson Dozier

Corro’ll Driskell

Carmalitha Lizandra Gumbs

Odari M. Head

Asegun Henry

Michael B. Ibidapo

Kenneth F. Joe, Sr.

Nicola Rochester

David Lee Williams, Jr.


City Council, District 3


Louis M. Bell

William Ervin Breazeale

Shanan Eugene Jones

Deandre’ Bernard Mathis

Sherman E. McDonald

Darris J. Rollins

Johnny Surry

Samuel Wakefield

Helen Zenobia Willis


City Council, District 4


Lenard Bryant

Stacey Larice Colier

Anthony Ray Cunningham

Dedrain “Dee” Franklin

Gertrude Naeema Gilyard

James W. Holmes

Detrius Hill Jones

Rochelle Lindsey

Richard M. Loveland, Jr.

Judith Sunshine

Mandisha Thomas

Barbara Ann Williams


City Council, District 5


Kalvin A. Bennett

Shawn Bulloch

Rosie Jackson

Robert H. Kelly

Corey Alan Reeves

Patrick Virgil Smith

Kwame A. Wise


City Council, District 6


Carol R. Horne

Khalid Kamau

Charlean Parks

Torrey Tomlinson

Michael Venable


City Council, District 7


Mark Baker

Marcus Coleman

Stalone M. Davis

Linda Pritchett

Alvin T. Reynolds

Terri J. Taylor


Learn more about the upcoming elections and candidates for the city of South Fulton website, which includes an updated blog.